Art ON Fire

Thursday, June 16

United States: 10:00am PDT, 11:00am MDT, 12:00pm CDT, 1:00pm EDT

Europe: 19:00 CEST Australia: 3:00am AEST, Friday, May 27

Aviva RahmaniMichael & Heather Llewellyn, David Paul Bayles,Frederick J Swanson, Sam Hitt

Over 300,000 acres have burned in New Mexico over the last two months, in the Spring no less. In this Zoom event we will hear from members who have created data visualizations made during an artist residency, organized a group exhibition titled Forest Fires addressing wildfires in the Sierra Nevada Mountain Range, see photo documentation from a series titled Following Fire that’s a collaboration between an artist and scientist visually assessing the Holiday Farm Fire in Oregon, and a guest speaker who is an activist presenting an alternative perspective on the current Hermit’s Peak and Calf Canyon Fires in New Mexico. We will also have a selected group of artists present who are addressing wildfires in their work that will participate in the Q&A following.

Gif above: ©Avivia Rahmani, Projections of Fire, 2021; ©Llewellyn Studio, FOREST⇌FIRE, 2021; ©David Paul Bayles, Fireweed and Charred Western Red Cedar, 2021; ©NASA Earth Observatory image by Joshua Stevens, April 23, 2022.

Members and one guest are free. General Public can attend for $10. All participants MUST REGISTER.

REGISTER

%d bloggers like this: